Choate Attorneys honored in The Greatest Attorneys in America® 2022 Version

The Best Lawyers in America® recognized 43 choate attorneys in its 2022 edition. The recognition in Best Lawyers® is based entirely on peer review and is viewed as a significant distinction by both clients and lawyers.

Three of Choate’s partners – Robert M. Buchanan, Jr. (Litigation – Antitrust), Michael T. Gass (Corporate Compliance Law) and Douglas R. Gooding (Litigation – Bankruptcy) – were named Attorney of the Year in Boston respective areas of activity. These recognitions are given to individual attorneys with the highest peer feedback for a given subject area and geographic region.

Choate also had three attorneys – Kristen C. Buteau (patent law), Brian E. Reese, Ph.D. (Intellectual Property Law) and Stephanie L. Schönewald, Ph.D. (Intellectual Property Law) – Listed as “Ones to Watch” for the second year in a row. These awards are given to attorneys who are in their careers for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the United States

Many of the firm’s lawyers were listed in multiple categories. Our best lawyers include:

  • Antitrust Law – Robert M. Buchanan, Jr.
  • Appeal Process – Joan A. Lukey and Margaret H. Marshall, A. Hugh Scott
  • Banking and Finance – James A. McDaniel, Peter M. Palladino, and John F. Ventola
  • Bankruptcy and Debtor Law / Bankruptcy and Reorganization Law – Douglas R. Gooding, Kevin J. Simard and John F. Ventola
  • Bet-the-Company Litigation – Jack Cinquegrana and Joan A. Lukey
  • Biotechnology & Life Sciences Law – Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D. and Eric J. Marandett
  • Corporate Organizations – William P. Gelnaw, Jr.
  • Dedicated corporate and family business law – A. Silvana (Nan) Giner and Robert V. Jahrling III
  • Trade Disputes – Michael Bunis, Mark D. Cahill, Jack Cinquegrana, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Michael T. Gass, Joan A. Lukey, Margaret H. Marshall, E. Macey Russell, and A. Hugh Scott
  • Corporate Law – William P. Gelnaw, Jr., Robert V. Jahrling III, Brian P. Lenihan, John A. Meltaus, Stephen O. Meredith, and Peter M. Palladino
  • Corporate Compliance Law – Michael T. Gass
  • Corporate Governance Law – Michael T. Gass
  • Criminal Defense: General Practice – Jack Cinquegrana and Diana K. Lloyd
  • Criminal Defense: White Collar – Jack Cinquegrana, Diana K. Lloyd, A. Hugh Scott and Melissa Bayer Tearney
  • Labor Law: Individuals – Joan A. Lukey
  • Employment law: Management – Alison F. Reif
  • Health Law – Lee Feldman, Julia Hesse, and Christine G. Savage
  • Litigation: Antitrust Law – Robert M. Buchanan, Jr.
  • Litigation: Bankruptcy – Douglas R. Gooding and John F. Ventola
  • Litigation: First Amendment – Joan A. Lukey
  • Litigation: Intellectual Property – Michael Bunis, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Eric J. Marandett, and Paul D. Popeo
  • Litigation: Labor Law – Joan A. Lukey
  • Litigation: Patent – Robert S. Frank, Jr. and Eric J. Marandett
  • Litigation: Personal Injury (Plaintiff) – Joan A. Lukey
  • Litigation: Product Liability (Defendant) – Joan A. Lukey
  • Litigation: Securities – Jack Cinquegrana and Diana K. Lloyd
  • Mergers & Acquisitions – Robert V. Jahrling III
  • Not for Profit / Charity Act – Charles A. Cheever
  • Patent Law – Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D.
  • Data protection and data protection law – Adam J. Bookbinder
  • Private Fund / Hedge Fund Law – Louis J. Marett
  • Project finance law – Peter M. Palladino
  • Real Estate Law – Gregg B. Cosimi, Brian King, and Paul C. Laudano
  • Securities / Capital Markets Law – Robert V. Jahrling III
  • Securities Regulation – John R. Pitfield
  • Securitization and Structured Finance Law – Peter M. Palladino
  • Tax Law – Louis J. Marett
  • Technology Law – John A. Meltaus
  • Trade Secrets Act – Paul D. Popeo
  • Trusts & Estates – Kristin T. Abati, Charles A. Cheever, A. Silvana (Nan) Giner, and Brian W. Monnich
  • Venture Capital Law – Brian D. Goldstein, Kimberley J. Kaplan-Gross, Brian P. Lenihan, and John A. Meltaus